Online Resources All of the databases listed below may be accessed from computers in the Law and Research Library on the 3rd floor of the 1938 Capitol addition. Most of these databases may also be accessed from computers in legislative buildings. Select one of the following: Contract obligations restrict access to a few of the premium databases to the Library or legislative buildings, but many of the databases can be accessed remotely by state officials or employees with State Library Cards (http://www.lib.az.us/LibraryCard/). Arizona public library card holders not in the Capitol building should contact their local library for access to statewide databases. Alphabetical listing of databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z | | Database | Description | Access | ABI/Inform Complete™ (tutorial) (pdf) (vendor information) | This ProQuest® business database includes nearly 3,000 full-text titles, including today's Wall Street Journal, and covers business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. It also includes AZB Arizona Business (Tempe, AZ) (1987-2004), Arizona Business Gazette (Phoenix, AZ) (1986-2001) and Arizona Capitol Times (2006- ) | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access w/ State Library Card | Administrative Codes (48 states) (tutorial) (pdf) | LexisNexis® State Capital provides access to state regulations and researchers can access information about one state, or combination of states. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access w/ State Library Card | Administrative Registers (41 states) (tutorial) (pdf) | LexisNexis® State Capital provides access to state regulations and researchers can access information about one state, or combination of states. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access w/ State Library Card | America the Beautiful (vendor information) | This Grolier (Scholastic) product presents via essays, the history, geography, economy, government, culture and major cities of the 50 states, Washington, D.C., Puerto Rico, and the major territories. There are fact boxes, biographical profiles, articles on famous places and natural wonders and bibliographical entries. Each state also features dozens of photographs, interactive maps, panoramic photos, and audio slide shows. An Almanac brings together the statistics about each state into a single reference tool. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | America's Newspapers (tutorial) (pdf) (vendor information) | America's Newspapers, a NewsBank product, has full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers including Arizona Business Gazette (1999- ), Arizona Daily Star (Tucson, AZ) (1991- ), Arizona Republic (Phoenix, AZ) (1999- ) and Tucson Citizen (Tucson, AZ) (1999- ). | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access w/ State Library Card | Ancestry® library edition (vendor information) | Ancestry® library edition includes coverage of the U.S. records plus record collections from England, Ireland and Wales, Canada and other areas. It contains more than 4,000 databases (e.g., Social Security Death Index, WWI Draft Registration Cards, Federal Slave Narratives) and 1.5 billion names with full text with images, and citations -- from federal census (1790 to 1930), vital, church, court, and immigration records, historical maps, and a strong Civil War collection. | at the State Library | Arizona Business Gazette (1999- ) (tutorial) (pdf) | America's Newspapers includes full-text articles from the electronic edition of the Arizona Business Gazette with business, stock market and financial information about the Phoenix metro area, Arizona and the rest of the world. Issues from 1986-2001 can be found on ABI/Inform Complete™. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access w/ State Library Card | Arizona Capitol Times (2006- ) (tutorial) (pdf) (vendor information) | ProQuest® ABI/Inform Complete™ includes Arizona Capitol Times, a weekly newspaper that covers Arizona government, politics and the Legislature with a focus on issues affecting Arizona public policy, associations, senior citizens, arts organizations and charitable giving. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access w/ State Library Card | Arizona Daily Star (1991- ) (tutorial) (pdf) | America's Newspapers includes full-text articles from the electronic edition of the Arizona Daily Star, a Tucson area paper with local and national news, sports, opinion, food, home, and travel coverage. Issues from 2001 on are also included in Thomson Gale™ General Reference Center Gold™ and from 2002 on are included in EBSCO Newspaper Source. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access w/ State Library Card | | Arizona Daily Sun (2003- ) | EBSCO Newspaper Source provides full text for 23 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc. plus Arizona Daily Sun (Flagstaff, AZ). Issues from 2003 on are also included in Thomson Gale™ General Reference Center Gold™. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access for Arizona residents | Arizona Memory Project (more information) | The Arizona Memory Project is an online effort to provide access to the wealth of primary sources in Arizona libraries, archives, museums and other cultural institutions. This initiative provides the opportunity to view some of the best examples of government documents, photographs, maps, and objects that chronicle Arizona's past and present. | all remote access for Arizona residents | Arizona Republic (1999- ) (tutorial) (pdf) | America's Newspapers includes full-text articles from the electronic edition of The Arizona Republic, a daily newspaper for the Phoenix metro area which includes state, national, and world news coverage. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access w/ State Library Card | ArticleFirst (tutorial) (pdf) (vendor information) | This Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) FirstSearch database is an index of articles from journal tables of content. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access for Arizona residents | return to alpha list top of page | Database | Description | Access | Bills (50 states) (tutorial) (pdf) | LexisNexis® State Capital provides access to the full text of bills and laws from all 50 states. Researchers can access information about one state, any combination of states, or all 50 states in one search. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access w/ State Library Card | Business & Company Resource Center
(vendor information) | This Thomson Gale™ service brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodical resources. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | return to alpha list top of page | Database | Description | Access | ClasePeriodica (tutorial) (pdf) (vendor information) | This Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) FirstSearch database is an index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access for Arizona residents | | Computer Database | This Thomson Gale™ service provides access to current periodicals covering the computer, telecommunications and electronics industries. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | Congressional Record (1985-) (tutorial) (pdf) | LexisNexis® Congressional provides access to detailed information about Congress including the full-text of the Congressional Record. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access w/ State Library Card | return to alpha list top of page | Database | Description | Access | eBooks (tutorial) (pdf) (vendor information) | This Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) FirstSearch database is a catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access for Arizona residents | | EBSCO HOST Research Databases | This service includes three databases: - MasterFILE Premier™: provides full-text for nearly 1,950 general reference publications, 84,011 biographies, 83,472 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 192,999 photos, maps and flags
- Newspaper Source: provides full-text for 23 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including:
- USA Today
- The Christian Science Monitor
- The Washington Post
- The Times (London)
These Arizona newspapers are also included in this service: - Arizona Daily Star (Tucson, AZ) (2002- )
- Arizona Daily Sun (Flagstaff, AZ) (2003- )
- The Sun (Yuma, AZ) (2006- )
- The Tribune (Mesa, AZ) (2001- )
- NoveList: helps users locate books to read, browse theme-oriented book lists at every reading level and learn more about books and authors
| at the State Library at the Legislature remote access for Arizona residents | ECO (tutorial) (pdf) (vendor information) | This Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) FirstSearch database includes citations and abstracts from scholarly journals. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access for Arizona residents | Encyclopedia Americana® (vendor information) | The Grolier Encyclopedia Americana® includes 45,000 articles contributed by over 6,500 specialists in their respective disciplines which cover all academic fields and curriculum topics. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | ERIC (tutorial) (pdf) (vendor information) | This Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) FirstSearch database includes citations and abstracts of education articles and reports. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access for Arizona residents | Expanded Academic ASAP® (vendor information) | This Thomson Gale™ service is comprised of more than 3,500 indexed and full-text titles, of which 2,100 are peer-reviewed, in all disciplines with more than 20 years of back file coverage on a wide-range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | return to alpha list top of page | Database | Description | Access | FirstSearch (tutorial) (pdf) (vendor information) | This Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) service provides access to 11 general reference databases including: - ArticleFirst: search the table of contents of over 20,000 publications
- ClasePeriodica: index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities
- ECO: citations and abstracts from scholarly journals
- ERIC: citations and abstracts of education articles and reports
- MEDLINE: citations and abstracts of articles from all areas of medicine
- PapersFirst: index of papers presented at conferences worldwide
- ProceedingsFirst: index of worldwide conference proceedings
- WorldAlmanac: Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs
| at the State Library at the Legislature remote access for Arizona residents | return to alpha list top of page | Database | Description | Access | General Reference Center Gold™ (vendor information) | This Thomson Gale™ product integrates more than 20 reference books, more than 4,500 titles, including 3,500 full text, plus a 25-year back file of articles. Full text and image resources include Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service newspaper articles including Arizona Daily Star (Tucson, AZ) (2001- ), Arizona Daily Sun (Flagstaff, AZ) (2003- ) and The Tribune (Mesa, AZ) (2001- ). | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | GPO (tutorial) (pdf) (vendor information) | This Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) FirstSearch database provides access to U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) records of over a half million U.S. government publications published since 1976 many of which can be found at the Law and Research Library. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access for Arizona residents | Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia™ (vendor information) | This online encyclopedia contains thousands of articles, extensive hyper linking, bibliographies and links to other sources of information on the web. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | | Grolier Online | Grolier Online is published by Scholastic Library Publishing, Inc.and includes seven encyclopedia databases: - Encyclopedia Americana®
- Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia™
- The New Book of Knowledge®
- La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre
- America the Beautiful
- Lands and Peoples
- The New Book of Popular Science
| at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | return to alpha list top of page | Database | Description | Access | Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module (vendor information) | This Thomson Gale™ product features health and medical journals and pamphlets (nearly 70% full text), articles from 2,200 general interest publications, a broad collection of Thomson Gale™ reference titles and reputable sources including Medical and Health Information Directory and PDR Family Guides. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | Health Reference Center Academic (vendor information) | This Thomson Gale™ product provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's® Health Reference Center. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | Hein Online (tutorial) (pdf) (vendor information) | This William S. Hein & Co. product is a comprehensive, image-based collection of hundreds of legal periodicals and other legal collections. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access w/ State Library Card at Arizona County Libraries | HeritageQuest™ Online (vendor information) | This ProQuest® service includes nearly 8,000 family histories, 12,000+ local histories, more than 250 primary source documents (tax lists, city directories, probate records, etc.), over 25,000 titles (ex.: Periodical Source Index [PSI], Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files, Freedman Bank Records), important resources for African-American genealogical research, plus more than 20 million images (digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records (1790 to 1930). | at the State Library remote access w/ State Library Card | return to alpha list top of page | Database | Description | Access | | ¡Informe!™ | This Thomson Gale™ database is a reference tool providing indexing, images and full-text of popular Hispanic magazines. It also includes a thesaurus and interface that are uniquely designed for Spanish-speaking users. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | InfoTrac® OneFile® (vendor information) | This Thomson Gale™ service includes more than 9,200 titles (over 5,000 full text), from mainstream to specialized sources, and back file coverage from 1980 for virtually every popular, business and professional topic. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | | Inside Tucson Business (1995 - ) | This EBSCO MasterFILE Premier™ resource provides full text articles, commentary, news and information on business, health, real estate, engineering, media, etc. for Tucson, Arizona. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access for Arizona residents | return to alpha list top of page | Database | Description | Access | Lands and Peoples (vendor information) | This Grolier product includes 330 articles about the continents and countries of the world, 350 maps and 270 flags, 500 four-color photos, approximately 2,500 external web links, 3,000 internal article-to-article links. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | LegalTrac (vendor information) | This Thomson Gale™ product provides indexes for more than 800 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. The database also contains law-related articles from more than 1,000 additional business and general interest titles. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | Legislative Histories (U.S. Congress) (1969-) (tutorial) (pdf) | LexisNexis® Congressional provides access to detailed information about Congress including Congressional bills, hearings and public laws. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access w/ State Library Card | LexisNexis® Congressional (tutorial) (pdf) | This LexisNexis® resource includes CIS Legislative Histories (1969- ); the full text of more recent Congressional reports, documents, prints, bills and the Congressional Record; testimony including prepared statements and selected question and answer transcripts (1988 - ); bill tracking reports that follow bills through Congress and the text of bills (1989 - ); Public Laws (1988 - ) and the United States Code; the Federal Register (1980 - ) and the Code of Federal Regulations as well as biographical, financial information and voting records for members of Congress. Articles from The Hill, Roll Call and The Washington Post (Section A), give an insider's perspective on recent Congressional activities. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access w/ State Library Card | LexisNexis® State Capital (tutorial) (pdf) | This LexisNexis® resource provides access to documents from all 50 state capitals including bills, laws, constitutions, regulations, legislature membership, and newspapers. Researchers can access information about one state, any combination of states, or all 50 states. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access w/ State Library Card | Literature Resource Center (vendor information) | This Thomson Gale™ product provides single-search access to an assortment of traditional literary reference works, critical information about authors and their works and current journal articles. Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | return to alpha list top of page | Database | Description | Access | | MasterFILE Premier™ | This EBSCO service provides full text for nearly 1,950 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. This database also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,011 biographies, 83,472 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 192,999 photos, maps and flags. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access for Arizona residents | MEDLINE (tutorial) (pdf) (vendor information) | This Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) FirstSearch database provides access to information about all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access for Arizona residents | return to alpha list top of page | Database | Description | Access | New Book of Knowledge® (vendor information) | This Grolier product includes thousands of articles, written by over 1,880 authoritative contributors, and has many special features. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | New Book of Popular Science (vendor information) | This Grolier product has articles which include full color photographs, detailed scientific artwork and technical illustrations and terrestrial and celestial maps. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | | Newspaper Source | This EBSCO service provides full text for 23 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc. plus Arizona Daily Star (Tucson, AZ) (2002- ), Arizona Daily Sun (Flagstaff, AZ) (2003- ), The Sun (Yuma, AZ) (2006- ) and The Tribune (Mesa, AZ) (2001- ). | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access for Arizona residents | | NoveList | This EBSCO service helps users locate books to read, browse theme-oriented book lists at every reading level and learn more about books and authors. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access for Arizona residents | Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre (vendor information) | This Grolier encyclopedia was conceived and developed with the Spanish-speaking peoples of the Americas as its focus. It contains seventeen thousand articles supplemented by over six thousand photographs. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | return to alpha list top of page | Database | Description | Access | Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (vendor information) | This Thomson Gale™ product is designed to aid students in the study of today's hottest social issues. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | return to alpha list top of page return to alpha list top of page | Database | Description | Access | | Sanborn Maps | This ProQuest® product provides access to historical fire insurance maps of Phoenix, Tucson, Yuma, Flagstaff, and many other Arizona towns and can be used by genealogists, history buffs, real estate professionals and others. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access w/ State Library Card | Science Resource Center (vendor information) | This Thomson Gale™ product provides access to thousands of full text articles on hundreds of topics. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | SIRS® Discoverer® (vendor information) | This ProQuest® product provides access to full text articles and images from more than 1,600 domestic and international newspapers, magazines and government documents. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | SIRS® Government Reporter® (vendor information) | This ProQuest® product provides access to thousands of full text documents and graphics concerning a wide variety of topics: health, science, economics, environment, politics, foreign affairs, business and industry. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | SIRS® Interactive Citizenship (vendor information) | This ProQuest® product provides access to three interactive books, What Citizens Need to Know About Government, What Citizens Need to Know About World Affairs and What Citizens Need to Know About Economics as well as links to databases and web sites. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | SIRS® Knowledge Source® (vendor information) | This ProQuest® service provides integrated access to thousands of full-text articles, documents, Internet resources and graphics from SIRS reference databases which include: - SIRS Researcher: full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, political and global issues
- SIRS Government Reporter: includes information by and about the U.S. Government
- SIRS Renaissance: provides current information about music, literature, culture, architecture, philosophy, religion, etc.
- SIRS Interactive Citizenship: an educational resource that emphasizes reading, writing and critical thinking.
- SKS WebSelect: pre-screened weblinks enhance learning for students
- SIRS Discoverer: this database contains biographies of the U.S. Presidents, information on more than 100 countries and photo essays depicting social issues and global concepts
| at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | SIRS® Renaissance® (vendor information) | This ProQuest® product provides access to current information on architecture and design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts, philosophy and religion and visual arts. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | SIRS® Researcher® (vendor information) | This ProQuest® product provides access to thousands of full-text articles from 1,600 domestic and international publications which explore social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | SIRS® WebSelect (vendor information) | This ProQuest® product provides access to quality web sites on almost any subject. | at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | Stat-USA (vendor information) | The main focus of this U.S. Dept. of Commerce service is international trade data. The International Trade Library has data about international trade with the United States. The State of the Nation has financial and economic data about the U.S. domestic economy. | at the State Library some databases require password access | Statutes (50 states) (tutorial) (pdf) | LexisNexis® State Capital provides access to bills and statutes from the 50 states. Researchers can access information about one state, any combination of states, or all 50 states. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access w/ State Library Card | | Sun, The (2006- ) | EBSCO Newspaper Source provides full text for 23 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc. plus The Sun (Yuma, AZ). | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access for Arizona residents | return to alpha list top of page | Database | Description | Access | | Thomson Gale™ Databases | Thomson Gale™ databases include: - Business and Company Resource Center: company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, etc.
- Computer Database: includes computer hardware, software news and reviews, etc.
- Expanded Academic ASAP: scholarly journals, news magazines, etc.
- General Reference Center Gold
- Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health
- Health Reference Center Academic
- ¡Informe!™ Revistas en Espanol: full-text articles from Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals
- InfoTrac OneFile: news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics
- LegalTrac: an index to articles in major law reviews and journals, articles on federal and state cases, etc.
- Literature Resource Center
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors
- Science Resource Center
| at the State Library remote access for Arizona residents | | Tribune, The (2001- ) | EBSCO Newspaper Source provides full text for 23 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc. plus The Tribune (Mesa, AZ). Issues of The Tribune from 2001 on are also included in Thomson Gale™ General Reference Center Gold™. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access for Arizona residents | Tucson Citizen (1999- ) (tutorial) (pdf) | America's Newspapers includes full-text articles from the electronic edition of the Tucson Citizen, a daily (except Sunday) Tucson newspaper which includes state, national, and world news coverage. | at the State Library at the Legislature remote access w/ State Library Card | return to alpha list top of page return to alpha list top of page See also:   Topical compilations of web resources which can be accessed from any machine with access to the World Wide Web Updated: 08/13/2008 |