image of banner for Library Development Divisionlink to Agency Home and Library Development Division Home link to Agency Home link to Library Development Division Home

Databases


Accessing databases through AZ Public Libraries - brochure


EBSCO

MasterFile Premier features: 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews, nearly 500 full text reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from 84,074 biographies, 86,135 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of 188,323 photos, maps and flags.


includes:
- Newspaper Source -- Selected full-text for nearly 30 national and international newspapers and 200 regional newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts

- NoveList -- Find new fiction titles to read. Search by favorite author, title or series and find similar titles, reviews and reading group guides, what to read next.


Gale (Thomson)

Health & Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Health Module Magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, prescription.  drugs, etc. The material is intended for informational purposes only. Search Tips (pdf)

Business & Company Resource Center with Investext, PROMT and Newsletters Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Predicast's PROMT database is fully integrated in this database. Search Tips (PDF)

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Students will be able to explore each topic's many facets drawing from acclaimed social issues print series, the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors.Search Tips

Literature Resource Center Database rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content. Find literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Search Tips (pdf)

Science Resource Center An in-depth, curriculum-oriented science database that provides a one-stop resource for all science-related research needs, focusing on key concepts taught in school classrooms Search tips

Informe The first electronic database in Spanish, specifically designed to meet the research needs of Spanish-speaking, users, with full-text articles from the most popular Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals. Search Tips

InfoTrac OneFile A comprehensive source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports and technology.  Search tips


includes
- General Reference Center Gold Articles from magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books, many with full-text and images. Search Tips

- Expanded Academic ASAP Scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full-text and images. (Infotrac) Search Tips

- LegalTrac Index of articles in major law reviews and journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers, articles on federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice, and taxation. .Search Tips.

- Computer Database Computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.

- Professional Collection InfoTrac Professional Collection is an on-line collection of articles from 50+ professional journals for Educators. It features professional journals published expressly for teachers and administrators.


Grolier (Scholastic)

Grolier Online Core Database Suite including 10 minute GO tutorial

Encyclopedia Americana Targeted at grades 8 and above, but younger students also can find plenty of resources here, including colorful, printable maps and flags and links to related, prescreened Web sites, articles from magazines and journals and primary documents.

Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia

New Book of Knowledge

America the Beautiful

Lands and Peoples Encyclopedia of countries, cultures, and current events geared to student readers.

Grolier Popular Science

Grolier Spanish Encyclopedia Enciclopedia - La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre Una enciclopedia completa la cual también tiene cronologías y mapas.


OCLC Firstsearch Search Tips

WorldCat Catalog of books, videos, DVDs, Web resources and other library materials owned by libraries worldwide. Search Tips

ArticleFirst (now includes ContentsFirst) Index of articles from 12,000+ journals and magazines. Search Tips

Electronic Collections Online (ECO) - bibliographic index An index to scholarly journals. Search tips

PapersFirst Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide. Search Tips

ProceedingsFirst Index of worldwide conference proceedings. Search Tips

ERIC Annotated references to educational materials issued in the monthly Resources in Education and journal articles issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education. Search Tips

GPO All types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments such as Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc. Search Tips

MEDLINE All areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Corresponds to the print indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. Thousands of records with substantial abstracts. Search Tips

World Alamanac. Search Tips


ProQuest

SIRS Knowledge Source (SKS) – educator selected resources. SKS acts as both an integrated search portal to all SIRS titles and as a standalone resource, providing schools with compelling, multidisciplinary learning assets for enhancing student achievement. New features correlate resources directly to learning needs. Standards search allows educators to quickly locate and use content aligned to core curricula subjects, as well as technology and health standards.Search Tips

includes
- SIRS Researcher a general reference database that contains thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, political and global issues. Search Tips

- SIRS Government Reporter with information by and about the U.S. Government

- SIRS Renaissance provides current, dynamic information on music, literature, film, performing   arts, culture, architecture, philosophy, religion and visual arts.

- SIRS Interactive Citizenship is an online program that combines cutting-edge content with state-of-the-art technology, creating an educational resource that emphasizes reading, writing and critical thinking skills. Utilizing interactive electronic books that users can easily employ as either a stand-alone or as a supplement to textbooks.

- SKS WebSelect Quality pre-screened weblinks to enhance learning for students.

- SIRS Discoverer Contains biographies of every US President, complete information on more than 100 countries and Photo Essays depicting social issues and global concepts through visuals accompanied by brief text. Also contains the following databases: The World Almanac for Kids and an encyclopedia. Search Tips

 

top of page

Updated:  07/16/2007

E-mail website
comments to:
webedits@lib.az.us